How to defeat Leechmonger in Demon’s Souls

Maybe I’m just bad at the internets, but I had a really hard time figuring out how to beat this boss in Demon’s Souls. I have a somewhat rounded character build with the most skill points in strength but a fair amount in vitality, intelligence, and endurance. Because of my strength, I can make quick work of most enemies in close quarters with my crescent falchion. However, I generally prefer to lean on my intelligence, attacking enemies with ranged spells or bows and arrows. This is how I approached the Leechmonger battle in the Valley of Defilement. I searched high and low for a ranged strategy with little to no success. There is a detailed walkthrough on the Demon’s Souls Wiki, but I didn’t have the dexterity it suggests to use the ranged strategy, nor did I have the spells it suggests to use the magic strategy. I watched several YouTube videos, especially this one by Symonator, several times trying to figure out what I was doing wrong. It seemed to me like no matter how many arrows or spells I sunk into this boss it would regenerate its health faster than I could damage it.

Without further ado, I present to you the newbies’ ranged strategy for defeating Leechmonger in Demon’s Souls:

Step 1: Before departing, make sure you stock up on healing items as well as arrows (if you’re going to use a bow) or magic restoring items (if you’re going to use spells). I was able to defeat Leechmonger with about 40 arrows plus a handful of spells. For this reason, I’d recommend taking at least 50 arrows if not more like 100 if you are planning to use a bow exclusively. I only had to heal myself a few times during the fight.

Step 2: Check out this map of the Valley of Defilement, which I won’t reproduce here because that would make the author unhappy. At the bottom center of the map is a layout of the boss area. The little number 16 on the left side indicates where you enter the area, and the little number 17 marks the ledge where you will be attacking. Here is a screenshot of the ledge:

Be careful not to fall

You’ll notice you can (barely) see Leechmonger from this vantage point. It’s just close enough to get a target lock.

Step 3: Here’s the trick that took me several attempts to figure out: You must stand at the very edge of the ledge where Leechmonger will be able to hit you with its projectile attack. Have your healing items at the ready because you will need them. If you stand in a very specific spot on the ledge, most of Leechmonger’s projectiles will hit the bottom of the ledge doing you no harm at all. What you must not do is back away from the edge to avoid Leechmonger’s projectiles, thus giving it a chance to heal itself. As long as it continues to attack you, it will not heal itself.

Step 4: Standing at the spot specified above, continually attack with your bow and/ or spells. As I mentioned in step 3, don’t try to avoid the projectiles. Instead, heal yourself as needed. You will be able to defeat Leechmonger relatively quickly this way.

Of course, there are a range of strategies out there for defeating this boss, but this is the only one that worked for me. For instance, if your character has more skill points in dexterity, you might be able to get away with letting Leechmonger heal itself and still be able to damage it faster than it can heal.

Either way, let me know what worked for you in the comments. Good luck!

One thought on “How to defeat Leechmonger in Demon’s Souls

  1. Steven

    Excellent! I had no idea he only regenerates when he can’t throw the leech bombs at you.
    Stood in that spot spamming him with flame toss and didn’t take a single it. My easiest boss so far. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

